History of the Castle
There are only the ruins of Parič Castle, a South Zemplin castle of historic significance named after the no-longer existing Parič settlement that later became a part of Trebišov, left. Its oldest phase dates as late as to 13th century when there was a timber-and-earth structure with a residential building in its centre.
From the perspective of Slovakia, Parič is a unique example of bricks used as the dominant building material. There is not any similar castle in our territory. Due to the threat of its exposure to high levels of underground water only its foundations were made of stone. When trying to classify Parič according to the existing classification system, it can be put in the class of keepless castles, where the protective function of a tower was taken over by a curtain wall. Considering its location in East Slovak lowlands that basically show only minor difference in elevation, the ability of Parič to withstand attacks was enhanced by a moat.
The history of Parič Castle was really complicated and full of forceful changes of ownership. The hectic period of anti-Hapsburg uprisings substantially changed the architecture of the castle. Its existence ended by its intentional blow-up by Imrich Tököli in 1686. In the last quarter of the 18th century, the building material of the castle was used to build a nearby-standing manor house. The remains of the castle were later used for army training purposes. All the above stated facts have influenced the today's state of the castle. Save for the archaeologically discovered buildings found under the ground, there is only a small 'torso' of the brick wall left.